When Agile doesn’t fit

agile-wereld-stikkies-humongous

Most of the time I am really enthusiastic about agile, but I notice that some people do not get along with it. In my latest episode of ‘Agile In The Real World‘, I transcribe the interview I had with a tester that felt his job has gone sour.

  [image source: http://s3.amazonaws.com/rapgenius/lemon-sour.jpg] 

His position in the organisation has weakened, his position in the team was unsure. “when I have to apply for my own job”, he stated during my interview,” I doubt whether I get hired”. I cannot change myself, “he sighs, “group processes don’t do me justice,  I prefer to work solo.” My Interview describes the story of one person, but there are more stories like his. More people who are struggling with their position.

If we want these people to deliver value to the organisation we’ll need to have an eye for what motivates them.  Scrum Master and Agile coaches should actively approach them during the transition to Agile, and discuss with them how they can continue to deliver their value within the context of the team.

The full article has been published (in Dutch) by Bits & Chips magazine, and can be read here: Agile in de echte wereld- deel 7- In de knel

This entry was posted in Agile in de Echte Wereld, Bits & Chips, SCRUM and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to When Agile doesn’t fit

  1. Marcel Schaar says:

    Leuk idee van interview. Kunnen we ook een keer een PO (of een paar) interviewen samen?
    Marcel

    Like

Leave a Reply

