User story estimation

Last month I was approached by an Agile tester. He had a dispute with his team about how they should do their estimations. “Derk-Jan, Can you share your view”, he asked me, “so I can benchmark my ideas and address the issue with my team?” I accepted the challenge and selected the topic for my latest post on Bits&Chips. Thanks for popping the question and I hope the answer I give will help you in your discussion with the team.

Thanks Justin Lopez for creating the pokering Squirrel illustration.

Author: derkjandegrood

Derk-Jan de Grood, works for Squerist as senior test consultant and agile advisor. As Trainer, Consultant and Agile Coach, he is involved with improvements and agile implementations. Derk-Jan is the author of several successful books including TestGoal, Grip on IT and the Dutch Testers association’s jubilee book on future trends in testing. In 2016 he published “Agile in the Real World”, a book on SCRUM. Derk-Jan won several awards including the prestigious European Testing Excellence Award in 2014

Leave a comment